January 16, 2021

Senator Jim Risch 483 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Dear Senator Risch,

The signatories of this letter are Republicans who did not endorse Joe Biden's candidacy for President. We do, however, support his nomination of Antony Blinken for Secretary of State, and we hope the Senate will approve his nomination.

We believe that, as a former Deputy Secretary of State, Mr. Blinken has the foreign policy expertise and management experience necessary to effectively conduct U.S. foreign policy and direct the operations of the Department of State. As a former Democratic Staff Director of the Committee on Foreign Relations, we believe he has the necessary sensitivity to and respect for the prerogatives of Congress in foreign policy matters. And, most importantly, based on our observations of him over the years, we believe he has the sound judgment necessary to be entrusted with the responsibilities of the office to which he has been nominated.

As Republicans, we certainly understand the temptation of some in your conference to accord President Biden's nominees for high office the same treatment that was routinely accorded to President Trump's nominees. The "resistance" culture is a corrosive one, however, and we urge the Senate not to succumb to it, particularly when the President puts forward a highly-qualified nominee like Mr. Blinken, who we know is committed to working across the aisle to advance American values and interests.

We believe Mr. Blinken is a fine choice for Secretary of State, and we urge the Senate to confirm him.

Sincerely,

## Michael Allen

Former Senior Director for Legislative Affairs, and for Counterproliferation Strategies, National Security Council Staff; Former Staff Director, House Permanent Select Committee on Intelligence

## Tom Callahan

Former Senior Professional Staff Member, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

## Ambassador Paula Dobriansky

Former Under Secretary of State for Global Affairs

#### Jim Dyer

Former Staff Director, House Committee on Appropriations

## **Peter Feaver**

Former Special Advisor for Strategic Planning and Institutional Reform, National Security Council Staff

## Peter Flory

Former Assistant Secretary of Defense; Former NATO Assistant Secretary General

## Steve Hadley

Former National Security Adviser to President George W. Bush

## Stuart Holliday

Former Assistant Secretary of State

## Will Imboden

Former Senior Director for Strategic Planning, National Security Council Staff

## **Bruce Jackson**

Mark Kirk Former U.S. Senator

## **Cliff May**

Former Commissioner, U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom; Former Communications Director, Republican National Committee

## Caleb McCarry

Former Senior Professional Staff Member, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

## Lester Munson

Former Staff Director, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

## **Roger Noriega**

Former Assistant Secretary of State; Former Senior Professional Staff Member, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

## Margaret Peterlin

Former Chief of Staff to Department of State; Former National Security Adviser to House Speaker Dennis Hastert

## **Danielle Pletka**

Former Senior Professional Staff Member, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

## Stephen Rademaker

Former Assistant Secretary of State; Former National Security Adviser to Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist

## Walker Roberts

Former Deputy Staff Director, House Committee on Foreign Affairs

## Dan Runde

Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Voluntary Foreign Assistance

#### Randy Scheunemann

Former National Security Adviser to Senate Majority Leaders Bob Dole and Trent Lott

## Gary Schmitt

Former Executive Director, President's Foreign Intelligence Advisory Board

## Henry Sokolski

Former Deputy for Nonproliferation Policy, Department of Defense

## Dan Vajdich

Former Professional Staff Member, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations

## Kurt Volker

Former U.S. Ambassador to NATO

# Ken Weinstein

Former Ambassador-Designate to Japan

## Todd Womack

Former Chief of Staff and Staff Director, Senate Committee on Foreign Relations